Skip to content

The Frost Place

July 7, 2009

is a three hour drive from my house. Last week, I walked up the path to the farmhouse where the poet spent his summers writing and avoiding hay fever. I embarrassed myself when I stepped onto the porch, peered through the mist at mountains I did not know the names of, met the young intern from Darthmouth, and got large sentimental tears in my eyes. But maybe this happens to every poet who goes up there.
I had been invited to talk about poetry and teaching poetry. When I went into the barn where my students were huddled, I saw the pictures of all the famous poets who had been here before us. My teacher Rosanna Warren smiled out of her frame. I felt like I belonged. That night, I talked about The Woman Who Named God for the first time in public. I was afraid my audience would be bored, but they told me they enjoyed it. Did they? I don’t know. But I left feeling like it was time to start writing my new book. Really writing it. A good sign.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ruth permalink
    July 8, 2009 9:04 am

    Charlotte, well I for one have not stopped raving about your whole visit. I must have told everyone I know about you and about your books. I’ve ordered both and insisted that my library get them too. Sometimes they listen to me! I so enjoyed your afternoon too of writing assignments and prompts. I certainly intend to use them with my fifth graders and with my new mission of writing everyday personally.

  2. Gary permalink
    July 10, 2009 1:32 pm

    Did they? Absolutely, they did. I am still talking about your wonderful presentation that very evening. I hope you and your publishers will explore looking into that ted.com. site I mentioned — a presentation from you would fit well there (and would provide a great boost in publicizing the book as well). I have been off at other conferences, but when things settle down a bit for me, I’ll see if I can come up with other ideas to share with you. In the meantime, I too, like Ruth, have been speaking your praises and urging friends, family, clergy and others to go out and purchase your new book.

  3. July 11, 2009 9:17 pm

    That is so nice of you to say, gary.

  4. July 11, 2009 9:17 pm

    Thank you, Ruth!

  5. karen clevidence permalink
    July 18, 2009 12:17 pm

    Charlotte,
    That is a very good idea Gary has. Ted.com is most definitely a good fit. I hope you look into it!

Leave a comment