Skip to content

Black Dog of Fate

October 16, 2008

I have just had the opportunity to re-read Peter Balakian’s Black Dog of Fate. I liked it even better this time. It is the story of how he discovers his family’s sufferings in the Armenian genocide. My students and I looked up Armenia on YouTube and we found a posting of a recent soccer game. In the comment section, Turks and Armenians battled over the genocide, about whether it had happened. One Turkish post said the genocide was “just an exile.” My students and I could not believe that Turks could still deny this history.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

