Skip to content

My writing clothes

May 11, 2009

are weird– maternity jeans (my son’s eleven), a speckly Harvard sweatshirt, tennis socks with pom poms, circa 1988. My best friend writes in his pjs. We have to wear whatever keeps us in the house, whatever keeps us anti-social. We are shut ins. The original shut ins, like the elderly or criminals on house arrest. Ten days to do proofs for WOMAN WHO NAMED GOD. Nothing can tug or pull or be uncomfortable. Who cares if I spill? Besides, if I look too nice, I’ll drive to the store. Any store. Today, my partner or boyfriend or whatever it is you call people you live with when you are middle aged, asked me if I thought I should change my socks. Or, perhaps brush my hair.

THE OUTFIT

WRITING OUTFIT

4 Comments leave one →
  1. karen permalink
    May 11, 2009 9:50 pm

    Ugh! Proofs! No fun.

  2. May 27, 2009 8:08 am

    Personally, I go for the athletic wear. I put it on thinking that I’ll “take a break” in the middle of the day to go run or workout. Sometimes I actually do this. Or, I get involved in what I’m doing and time flies. No food in the fridge for dinner so I’m off to the grocery store looking oh-so-pretty. Like a middle-aged woman who can’t fit in her designer jeans anymore so she wears comfy clothes. My friends with their cutie shoes and matching handbags. It’s almost certain that I’ll run into them when I’m looking particularly bad. Lately, I’ve decided that’s OK. I love what I do and I’m thinking that’s my best accessory. I have made my own style…re-launching-marketer-mom-quasi-athlete-who-is-engaged-in-life. All good.

  3. meg permalink
    June 11, 2009 9:59 am

    the second i get home it’s a tank top (men’s undershirt style), sweater with holes (deliciously cozy) and pj pants. however, this outfit does not stop me from running out to a store if need be, much to the embarrassment of my family. although i am not a writer, i am a woman – o.k., you know me charlotte, so actually more of a girly girl, but as all females we work our best dressed in what makes us feel physically good. i applaud your writing clothes!

  4. June 11, 2009 9:12 pm

    Meg, you always make me laugh. Thanks so much for writing — I love tank tops. That is summer writing wear.

Leave a Reply

