Skip to content

Half Jew

June 21, 2009

We are so common now, we outnumber regular jews. Madeline Albright, Lenny Kravitz, Paul Newman Sara Jessica Parker, Gwyneth Paltrow, Lisa Bonet, Kevin Kline, Courtney Love, Sean Penn, Harrison Ford are just a few famous hybrids. According to two books, A Daughter’s Search for Her Family’s Buried Past and The Half Jewish Book, American half Jews face some common challenges and share some character traits. But in my experience each family has its own distinctive take on these complexities. Some struggle. Some don’t.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. beingboth permalink
    July 26, 2009 11:17 am

    I just surfed onto your site while looking for other “Half Jews”–beautiful writing! I look forward to reading your books. Take a look at my new blog on all things half-Jewish at onbeingboth.wordpress.com.

  2. Valerie Choudhury permalink
    October 5, 2013 2:10 pm

    I noticed in your forward to your book The woman who named God, you use bce, before the common era, which is Jewish rather than BC. I am of mixed gentile and jewish ancestry including rabbis but I am a Roman Catholic ; even my priest has Jewish ancestry. I’ve been studying Jewish History from courses in the Great Courses out of curiosity of the faith of these ancestors.

Leave a Reply

