Skip to content

The Woman Who Named God

July 8, 2009

is in my hands. It is a strange feeling to hold five years (at least) of work in one tidy package. It looks so small compared to the heaps of books and papers I have been buried in day after day for so so long.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. J. Marie permalink
    July 28, 2009 2:49 pm

    I just saw this book! I never thought about Hagar’s story in the context that you are presenting her, this is great! The whole story of Abraham, Sarah and Hagar is viewed differently in the African American community, and you are presenting this from a Jewish historical perspective, but you bring out some points which are never exegesis in church by any pastor I have ever heard, I am going to pass this book on to several christian women friend to get their take. I am also going to recommend this book to my library bookclub for next read.

  2. July 28, 2009 9:44 pm

    Thank you so much for writing. I am so happy you are interested in the historical perspective. If your bookclub decides to do the book, do let me know. I’d love to participate (by phone or even in person)

  3. J Marie permalink
    July 29, 2009 12:01 pm

    Wow, thank you so much, my bookclub group would be “out of their minds” with joy if you could participate, I will keep you posted as when this might be, with your busy schedule and all and getting enough copies of the book for the group will take a minute. Again, thank you. Hagar,Sarah and the whole Abraham conflict has always been an “issue” among African American women, and slavery is at the root of it for us, and simply the way it has been “preached” But you do give light to another interpretation of this text, which one almost never considers, what Hagar’s impact has been not only to birth a nation, but looking at her in a different spiritual context and how God used her, never even mentioned in church, as to might have been a “first” to cry or to be given such an assignment, now this tops, Miriam, who has been considered the first women prophetess. You go, girl!

  4. July 29, 2009 4:54 pm

    I am so happy to see that you really get why I think Hagar is so extraordinary. Yes yes yes. THANK YOU! Tell your book group I want to talk to them!

  5. October 25, 2009 8:27 am

    Charlotte, I could not find an email address for you, so I had to leave my question about your book here in the comment area. I know you have probably heard this question before and I hate to be redundant, but oh well.

    I had a physics professor who believed that onlycertain people such as Issac Newton were capable of changing the course of human intellectual devolopment. Do you think that Abraham was slated to bring monotheism into the world and not many other people could have accomplished what he was able to? Was it his relationship with Hagar and Sarah that made him capable? All right, that is more than one question.

    Until I read (most of your book!) I knew nothing about Hagar, Sarai, or Abram. You have changed the way I see the scriptures. I think that story was hidden in plain view. It would have never occured to me to use my life experience and knowledge about about male and female relationships to the scriptures. I always thought that my perspective or interpretation was wrong or erroneous. I thought of the bible as separate from real life, but now I am starting to understand that myth is trying to teach lessons that are difficult for my human mind to comprehend, and that there area universal truths behind the myths.

    Thank you for your work and the important and necessary perpective you are bringing to biblical scholarship. Maybe Doc (my physics professor) is correct. I did not understand much of the other things he tried to teach me.

    Judaye

  6. J. Maarie permalink
    October 25, 2009 10:49 am

    To Judaye, We thank God for revealing Himself to you…This reminds me of a passage in scripture from 2 Kings 6: 17, read it when you have time. God’s word is the “light” of the world, and when this happens in your life, you see everything more clearly.

  7. J. Marie permalink
    October 25, 2009 10:51 am

    Last post from J. Marie, sorry about the misspelling of my own name!

  8. J. Marie permalink
    October 25, 2009 10:53 am

    To Judaye, We thank

  9. J. Marie permalink
    October 25, 2009 10:57 am

    To Judaye, We thank God for revealing Himself to you…This experience you’ve had reminds me a passage of scripture from 2 Kings 6:17, read it when you have a moment. God’s word is truly the “light” of the world, and once this happens to you, everything is made clear. Thanks for sharing this experience with us.

  10. October 25, 2009 12:17 pm

    Hi Judaye, Thank you so much for your reflections. I appreciate them very much. It’s a lonely business, writing. I am very glad that my book has been helpful to you. I learned a lot from writing it. In fact, I just wrote a post about that. It is very generous of you to take the time to read it and to write to me. I am grateful!
    At any rate, your questions: I tend not to think like your physics professor. I am not sure why. Maybe it is because I think we are all changing the world in ways we can’t always see. Or maybe it’s because I am suspicious of history, how we get names passed down to us, who anoints the celebrated ones. Maybe there were other researchers besides Newton who were intent on his path. Maybe one was a woman. It’s the old Virginia Woolf question: Where is Shakespeare’s sister? Having said that, though, I do think it is his relationship with the women in his life that helps him assume his position as the father of three religions. Without the women, he would be a much smaller figure.

    Thanks, Judaye.

  11. J. Marie permalink
    October 26, 2009 9:10 am

    Hi Charlotte, I think writing is a “lonely” business, because you don’t need others to tell you how you feel about the subject you are trying to write about. We know how “society” feels about women as a whole, but this should never prevented us from being and doing what we feel we have been called/and anointed to do. I am glad you wrote this book, and I hope it gets great reviews, maybe, just maybe some men might read it and go look at the “Good Book” and see for themselves that a large portion of Jesus’s ministry was to women, and he used them to deliver His people too, all we have to do is look at who was at the cross and who was at His resurrection. Those of us who have been in academics, know how that works, but I feel education is to improve the “mind”, not control it.

Leave a Reply

