Skip to content

those word verifications,

August 12, 2009

you know the ones. Before you can publish your comment or sign into your bank account or say something you really want to say online, you have to copy all of those weird letters, sometimes with a number sprinkled in: oJk2z, wqr3x. They often feature rare letters. I get a little thrill when I type in those zs and qs without us. Of course, I acknowledge that these are random machine generated things — I don’t know what to call them. as they aren’t words, which points to what a strange activity this is. Are we, the computer and I, talking in a new language that we are inventing together. I don’t always do it right, because I can’t figure out what the letters are because sometimes they are embedded in a sort of sandy background that obscures their full outlines. Also, do you need to follow the capitalizations that appear to be there? When I guess incorrectly, the site won’t let me comment. Astonishing that I’m excluded because I cannot discern the code. It’s like a kind of IQ test. Except that I am very smart and I don’t always pass.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ruth permalink
    August 13, 2009 8:06 am

    I try to image them as an anagram or a fill in the blanks!…word person that I am. However; I do know what you mean as sometimes those letters are a complete mystery and unreadable. Leap of Faith!

    I’d adore to take your non fiction class or really any of your classes. At my age I don’t need any more credits, but I sure do love learning new things and talking with people about ideas.

    So, that brings me to the concept that perhaps the public (who is that anyway?) aren’t interested in ideas. I know scads of people who feel the same way I do and I tell them about your books and Dawn’s too. I’ve been hounding my library as well. I rather know that public.

  2. Judaye permalink
    August 13, 2009 10:51 am

    I get so frustrated sometimes trying to read those codes, and then clicking them over and over trying to find one that I can decipher. There have been a few times that I have given up.

    Your post reminds me of social codes that I never caught on to, and no one ever told me how to read or understand. I suppose these codes are a subtle kind of non-verbal language.

    I had to read Daisy Miller in school, but there was never enough time to really understand the text. I sort picked up that Daisy wasn’t catching on to the social cues around her. I could relate to her experience in some ways.

    One day I would like to read that book again. I sometimes wonder about what is never said because a person cannot decipher the accepted codes.

Leave a Reply

