Skip to content

should be asleep

August 31, 2009

and am furious I am not. Thanks to the antics of verizon I do not have a printer because my printer needs to be online and it can’t be online because I reset our modem and have to reset the printer and I need a printer because I need to print out a THREE PAGE list of school supplies for my sixth grader. I am ready to withdraw him from school. Who uses a protractor anymore? Five different colors of binders. Graph paper. Lots of scary things I have never heard of. Dividers you can write on.
Meanwhile I have a huge interview for an NPR show tomorrow at 930AM. And, who can think about ideas when they have to figure out how and when to go to staples. not to mention the sports supplies. sneakers, cleats, shin guards, and graph paper. Plus, there is always being a professor. Tomorrow is Endicott’s Convocation. I will try to fit that in during my spare time. More women need to write about their days. I take solace in hearing their stories of laundry and carpools and stories fit into the margins of a day. This is one reason why I loved Anne Bradstreet. If she could raise 8 children, found three towns, run a farm, pound the grain, manage the garden — all without running water, electricity, or a husband at home And write the first book of poems from the new world. Then I who am the fortunate owner of microwave and lamps should be able to do anything.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2009 6:16 am

    I was awake in the night, too, fretting over various lists and obligations. And when I got up this morning, I wanted to write on my blog about the essay I’m beginning to formulate, but no . . . what came out was Harmony Fair Anxiety Season. Think of it this way, though: if we didn’t have a real life of lists and obligations and corn-pounding, what would we have to write about during those interstices when we actually get a chance to sit down alone at our desks? I often wonder if this is what makes most scholarship so dry and bloodless: the authors don’t let the world enter into their writing. One would hardly know these authors were really alive.

  2. September 1, 2009 12:04 pm

    I agree that more women should write about their everyday triumphs–how inspiring the seemingly mundane can be!

  3. September 1, 2009 12:07 pm

    I read stuff by other women hungrily. Have you read Dawn Potter’s blog? dpotter.blogspot.com. She makes me laugh and I feel such solidarity with her and with you. Thanks for writing.

  4. September 1, 2009 3:44 pm

    Oh, how funny. I woke up at 2am, never went back to sleep, wrote a blog post instead. Yesterday was the first day of school. Rhythms are off as I shift to an empty house. Now I’m imagining women all over the country were lying awake, disturbed by the change in seasons, the forms to fill out, the reintegration of family and work for autumn. I feel comforted!

  5. September 1, 2009 4:08 pm

    Such comraderie! It is good to picture women all over the country not sleeping because of lunch box issues. I guess fathers and husbands and partners have their own ways of coping with these changes and beginnings and endings. I don’t really know what they are, though. Because I take care of it all. Every emergency contact.

Leave a Reply

