Skip to content

Gender updates in the Bible

September 1, 2009

are a good thing. I just had to state that here. I am annoyed at those evangelicals who are bent out of shape over the idea of a new Bible translation and (gasp) the idea that God has children not sons.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2009 6:14 am

    Milton would gasp too. He was such an old stick-in-the-mud. Good thing he had a few daughters of his own to drive him crazy.

  2. Kate Meo permalink
    September 8, 2009 10:29 pm

    🙂 At my college, we had “inclusive language” hymnals, etc. and a general disposition toward using the feminine pronoun in things both spiritual and administrative, so I got used to that, and it was a reverse culture shock to return to hearing only the male pronoun when I went home. Nothing like leaving out a whole gender!
    Thanks for bringing back the memories of my friend Sarah dragging me along to Friday night Chabad dinners, where we _only_ got the blessing for daughters unless somebody brought a son along.

  3. September 12, 2009 10:59 am

    ARGH I hate that story of only blessing the daughters if the sons were there. Isn’t that always the way? Thanks for writing. It is so great to know that like-minded people are out there.

  4. Kate Meo permalink
    September 12, 2009 7:08 pm

    I might have miscommunicated — but just to put it in context, it was a women’s college … so, actually, the inclusiveness of both blessings was to be welcoming to the sons of some of the non-traditional age students, because usually Friday night was all young student “daughters” and their occasional non-affiliated friends. 🙂 Hey, I’ll take all the blessings I can get.🙂
    I agree, though, that a blessing for “children” in general at all times regardless of the guests in attendance would have been more in keeping with the higher thought of gender equality; my school was (and is) just a bit aggressively pro-Womankind. Fem-centric, maybe? Somewhere between that intense femaleness at school and the general semi-patriarchal culture of the rest of the world, I think most graduates end up fairly well-centered on gender (and transgender and alterna-gender) equity. 🙂

Leave a Reply

