Skip to content

Torah and vampires: Or going back to work

September 2, 2009

I like going back to work because I get to see my friends and they tell me interesting things. For instance, my friend Larry told me that there are some Chassidic Jews who refuse to read the Torah or even mention the Torah’s name on Christmas Eve and Christmas. When he asked them if this was out of respect for Christians, they said No, that it would be bad luck to read Torah because Christmas is such a dark day. It marked the beginning of the end for Jews. I can’t help but think that Xmas was a pretty dark day for eastern European Jews because pogroms often happened then — so maybe this is where the tradition comes from. Still, it seems beneath contemporary Jews to take such a stand. Jews didn’t end because of Jesus. We are still going strong. He also told me that there are some Chassids who light their hats on fire at parties. Are these the same ones, I wonder?

Then, my friend Todd dragged me into his office to watch the opening credits of True Blood, a show he said I had to watch. We watched. I liked the strange grainy images and the weird twin peak music. I was worried by the one biting scene. I liked the polite civil war vampire, though. Maybe I will watch. But now the two conversations have mixed in my head: True Blood, hats, Christmas.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2009 9:58 pm

    Well, if it helps, I’ll tell you that as a Christian I have no problem with you (or anyone else) being a Jew. We have a common tradition, and I like that. I don’t think you’re going to hell, that Jews killed Jesus, or any of the rest of the standard conservative evangelical claptrap. Call me a neo-Christian if it helps to differentiate. It’s a term I’ve coined for myself and others like me: the Christians who don’t hate people of other faith communities, who don’t see homosexuals as sinners, who don’t think you have to turn around three times under a full moon and spit in the correct direction before you can be “saved.” I’m glad for your book and for your blog. Maybe we’re just at the forefront of a generation of new thinkers on these things.

    BTW, I’m reading a very good book right now — Immunity to Change. It’s off the general topic, but I thought you might enjoy it at some point in your reading because the authors talk about mental complexity and how some changes are hard because people have built up an emotional immune system. It’s food for thought, as it were.

  2. September 2, 2009 10:29 pm

    well I want to be wherever you are. so if that is the forefront than so be it! thank you judith. and i will try immunity.

  3. Ruth permalink
    September 3, 2009 9:12 am

    Well count me in too. Good glory, we have ever so much more in common, than we have as real differences.

  4. September 3, 2009 2:28 pm

    ok, you’re in!

Leave a Reply

