Skip to content

The third time around

September 22, 2009

I should realize that starting a new book is hard. I have written many essays in the last few months, taught a billion classes, given another billion talks, but am circling the Mary’s or whatever we’re going to call it. Today, for example, I engaged in purging behavior. Throwing out old clothes. Tempted to root out unnecessary spices from the kitchen cabinet, but restrained myself so that I could dilly dally the day away sitting in the same room with the manuscript, but not cracking it open. I wonder if that counts. Granted, I only allowed myself fifteen minutes of cleaning. But maybe I should have allotted the whole day to this activity. I would probably have more of a sense of accomplishment then I do right now. Also, I have eaten a lot of toast. And in another hour I have to get in my car and go give another talk on Woman (I am grateful to have the opportunity), but really should be dreaming about the Marys.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

