Skip to content

Episcopalians

September 23, 2009

Today I went to the Episcopal Cathedral on Tremont Street to give a talk for the MA Bible Society. I felt a rush of familiarity the moment I stepped into the hallway since I was raised as an Episcopalian. The first poster on the wall said, “Welcome. In the Episcopal Church there is room to question your beliefs.” or something to that effect. Nice looking collared people smiled at me as they went past. Bishop Harris happened to be there for a luncheon and I got to shake her hand. I felt like I had just met Bono.
When it was time for me to talk, my audience smiled at me encouragingly. They already knew the Bible story, so I could focus on the important ideas in the book. But perhaps my favorite part of all was that Anne Robertson, the Methodist minister who runs the Bible Society, started the proceedings with a prayer. I wish that all my talks could begin with our heads bowed in reflection. That is a very good way to start. For me and the audience.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Harris permalink
    September 24, 2009 9:19 am

    Dear Charlotte Gordon:

    You told me only that your name was Charlotte. It was not until you had left the building that I found you were Charlotte Gordon. Your sister gave me a copy of THE WOMAN WHO NAMED GOD during the General Convention of the church back in July. I immediately plunged into it and was fascinated. Your research was thorough and your writing masterful. Wish I had been at your luncheon. Thank you for a great book.I’m a fan of yours.
    +Barbara Harris

  2. Ruth permalink
    September 24, 2009 11:58 am

    Would that I were closer and could attend one of your presentations and discussions. I am a huge fan of Bishop Harris too.

  3. October 12, 2009 6:08 am

    I was grabbed by the title as I am also a “cradle Episcopalian” and I have been in the National Cathedral to worship (and to gawk!) so I wanted to know more about your experience. I am an ordained Episcopal priest and a “first” in many ways (like Bishop Harris who was the first woman to be consecrated as a Bishop in the Episcopal Church). It was a long, hard struggle – mostly worth it – and as a “now retired and loving it” priest, I can reflect on it all (that’s what I do on my blog) and write a book about it! Very cathartic and I hope helpful to someone else.

  4. October 12, 2009 5:48 pm

    So good to hear from you. I would be an eager writer of your book. Meanwhile, I will read your blog. Thanks for writing! Thanks for being a brave pioneer.

Leave a Reply

