Skip to content

Anti-Muslim Vitriol

September 24, 2009

If you want to know more about the Muslim Day of Prayer in the Capitol on September 25th, you have to wade through a swamp of vicious websites devoted to the defamation of Muslims. I will not repeat their calumnies here, but the drift was clear: Muslims are trying to destroy America. Beware of the Islamification of the world. All this, before any legitimate information about the Day of Prayer.

Call me naïve. Call me out of touch. Whatever. I was shocked. Shocked that there was this much venom. Shocked that I had discounted the level of hatred directed at Muslims in this country. In my small sampling of public opinion, the only people who have expressed extremist, angry views about my book are people who call themselves Christian. Muslims, on the other hand, have been my most balanced, appreciative audience.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. kat permalink
    September 25, 2009 9:49 am

    I would say a little out of touch or very unfortunate, if your only experience related to your writing with one who calls them self a Christian has been so off-putting. Such a blanketed pronouncement is thwarting, and saddens my Christian heart.

  2. Ruth permalink
    September 25, 2009 3:39 pm

    Life is simply way too short to focus on what separates us.

  3. kat permalink
    September 29, 2009 9:51 am

    Perhaps a little out of touch or very unfortunate, if your only experience related to your writing with one who calls them self a Christian has been so off-putting. Such a blanketed pronouncement is thwarting, and saddens my Christian heart.

  4. October 6, 2009 4:41 pm

    Sadly it’s the fanatics that ruin it for those who just want to go about their lives, loving, praying and accepting. I’ve found through my travels Christians to be more judgmental than non Christians. I’ve witnessed insulting behavior by fanatical Christians on Buddhist monks and other religious believers which left me feeling disgusted and ashamed for being a Christian.

    Like Ruth said life is too short for these kinds of behaviors towards others.

Leave a Reply

