Skip to content

I was driving home from Quincy

October 8, 2009

when I found myself swerving into to the dunkin donuts parking lot to purchase something. ANYTHING. Three tidbits or whatever those little things are called. I was tired. It was late. I wanted the little ones I’d seen on the table at the talk I gave. They had halloween sprinkles crusted on them. At the time, I had refused them. Well, I’d had two of them and had refused to take more with me. What was I thinking? I wanted them now. I was nervous when I walked across the parking lot. Not that I would get mugged. I was worried that I was getting doughnuts. But doesn’t all of America stop at dunkin donuts and get themselves a snack? Why should I be any different? l was coming home from talking at the Adams homestead and it occurred to me that they never had to think about things like junk food. They were always riding or walking or weeding. And they ate things like apple cake, but only after smashing up the apples and hauling the water and the wood and pounding the grains. All I have to do is take out my wallet and worry. It was closed, though. which is probably good.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2009 7:05 pm

    You do have a most interesting way of looking at some things. And you also have a way to make something as boring as a Dunkin’ Donuts munchkin sound, somehow, beautiful. I hope to write like you one day.

  2. October 11, 2009 9:57 am

    Thank you, ash. just write like you and all will be well. I still remember those stars. the ones you tried to show the boy when you were in the farmer’s field.

Leave a Reply

