Skip to content

Love affair

November 8, 2009

This is what it feels like to be reading and writing about Mary Wollstonecraft. Yes, she is self-righteous. Yes, she embarrasses herself (and me) on several notorious occasions. But increasingly, I am finding her an inspiration. I love her bravery. I love her commitment to ideas and to fighting in the public and political arena. I love that she did not stop writing, even when people called her names. I wish she had not died in childbirth. But then we might never have gotten Frankenstein.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2009 5:32 pm

    So it seems that despite of all the contradictions in her personality, and her personal struggles, she still made a difference. She mattered. She seems to be a good example for all women, especially today, because there are so many of us (including myself) who sometimes feel that we have very little influence in the world and over the people around us. Thanks for writing about her brillance and imperfections. Most of us can really relate.

  2. November 8, 2009 7:13 pm

    It’s nice to know that my comments about her matter. So you are influencing me!

  3. Ruth permalink
    November 9, 2009 5:58 pm

    Looking forward to meeting Mary. I have so enjoyed meeting Hagar and am getting to know Anne.

Leave a Reply

