Skip to content

Dawn Potter’s Reading

November 19, 2009

There were over fifty students there. And Dawn talked to them as though they were people, not always an easy task. Many of them had never seen a real live writer before so at first they looked at her with a sort of benign curiosity, like she was a zoo animal. But she won them over very quickly. As for me, I loved getting to hear her new poems, which, by the way, are coming out in March with CavanKerry press. My favorite was her poem about watching her son’s basketball team lose. What a great poem. I had to be careful not to burst into stormy moved tears in front of already un-nerved students. I left campus yesterday, excited and grateful to work at a college that encourages me to bring such talented writers to our campus.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 3:27 pm

    Writers ARE zoo animals.

    Thanks so much, Charlotte and everyone else at Endicott. I had a lovely, lovely visit.

  2. Barbara Topolosky permalink
    December 7, 2009 2:06 pm

    I am the aspiring writer from Columbus, Ohio. I did write an article about you for my community paper. Do you have a picture you’d like me to use,

    If you do, mail it to Btopolo5@aol,com

  3. December 8, 2009 7:12 am

    Hi Barbara, Do you want a picture of me or the book cover?

Leave a Reply

