Skip to content

Neanderthals

January 12, 2010

Did you know that they made necklaces when they lived in Spain? Before they died out. Thank you, NPR. The nice archaeologist said that this was important because it shows they were smarter than any of “us” thought. I love that I was included in that “us.” Like I spend a lot of time thinking about the IQ of Neanderthals. But I certainly get that making and wearing necklaces is evidence of the ability to think symbolically. Apparently, they also wore glittery make up. Given the jaw line of the Neanderthals as represented by the Museum of Natural History (where my own relationship with them began) this is startling information. Where did they apply the glitter? I may be avoiding my book. But now I only want to read about Neanderthals. Neanderthal ideas of attractiveness/ Neanderthal standards of beauty —

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 1:01 pm

    Glittery makeup. I love it.

  2. Art Smith permalink
    January 26, 2010 6:09 pm

    I may be able to relay some important information regarding the Early Christian Church and it’s demise. The view of this matter is from early Sufis.I’ll look up the info in my sufi books for you if interested.-Art

  3. Art Smith permalink
    January 26, 2010 6:15 pm

    I may be able to relay some important information regarding the Early Christian Church and it’s demise. The view of this matter is from early Sufis.I’ll look up the info in my sufi books for you if interested.I need your e-mail address(I cannot use your message server”Outlook”)-Art

Leave a Reply

