Skip to content

Butter and jello

January 13, 2010

Inuits often eat sticks of butter to manage the cold (Thank you, NPR). I know I’ve been famished during this latest cold spell and have spent lots of time eating. My computer is covered in crumbs. But I like writing in winter way better than in summer. In her book, Tracing Paradise, Dawn Potter describes summer in Maine as a time of mass hysteria, where everyone races outside and tries to swim, picnic, garden etc all at once. That’s what it’s like here, too. So, this is the season to stay inside, chained to one’s book, although yesterday night I drove to Worcester to read at the Jewish Community Center. I discovered that Nancy, the woman who organized the talk, shares my running addiction. She, too, gets up Early in the morning to run in the dark and the cold. I was prepared for a tiny crowd (like me and Nancy), but she did a great job of getting people to come. There was an interesting mix of people, some ministers, some Jewish federation people, a doctor or two. I like talking about the book to people who want to hear the story. I also like hearing other people’s stories. One woman told me she used to spend Shabbat at the racetrack with her dad when she was a kid; observance came later in life. Another woman told me that when she was twelve, her parents died. She asked her orthodox rabbi if jello was kosher and patted her on the head and he said, you have lost enough in your life. Jello is kosher for you.
What a great rabbi.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2010 12:35 am

    Any Rabbi who declare Jell-O to be kosher is a good ‘un in my book!

    FYI, I live in a small Midwestern city on the Missouri River. We get all sorts of weather here, but I’m not up to eating butter to survive the cold. Well, butter on toast perhaps, or butter on pancakes or on cornbread or . . . . OK, I guess I’ll have the butter, but only as a chaser.🙂

    The temp here was above freezing for the first time in weeks. Everyone walked around in shirtsleeves!🙂

  2. January 14, 2010 2:50 pm

    Our family is fond of reminding my younger son that “butter is not cheese.” He merely smirks and continues to decimate the butter.

    I can easily picture him eating a stick of butter, no matter what the weather.

Leave a Reply

