Skip to content

Dawn Potter’s poems on Writer’s Almanac

January 29, 2010

The one today is a violin lesson poem. The repetition of “do re mi fa” complete with variations is so splendid. I am proud to know this wonderful writer. The one that he will read on Jan. 31st is also gorgeous. It’s called “Lullaby” and I love the drum of the rhymes, “the dogs careening like clowns,” and the great surprise of “then drown.” A surprise trochee, sorry to use poet language, but this is my blog so I feel defiant about sounding pompous. Besides, I am tired of Not using words like these in the classroom because my students don’t know what trochaic is.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

