Skip to content

Kindles

February 26, 2010

Now that I have two long trips in front of me, Seattle and London, I get the point of Kindles. If I had one of those reading device things, I would not run the risk of crippling myself. Of course I don’t have one and so am left with the terrifying decision: Which books to bring? What if I leave the wrong one behind? I am paralyzed. I do know that the list will include: Beloved, as I am teaching Morrison next month. Their Eyes, because I am teaching Hurston now. Assorted student papers because I have no choice. But then what Mary and Mary volumes should come? Probably, none. I think I will bring Allison Weir’s Elizabeth I because I like the speed and fun she has with her story. And maybe a pile of New Yorkers.
The thing is, I would like to leave all clothes behind. And just bring books.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 12:40 pm

    What you need is a steamer trunk and a devoted retainer.

Leave a Reply

