Skip to content

Exams, concerts, and Phaedra

May 2, 2010

My students are winding up or down. I am not sure which. I am doing both at the same time. I have just reread Euripides’ Phaedra because this is my ticket to a conference in Sicily. I’ve been invited to be on a panel to talk about the play. But I am mostly interested in what others have to say. And yet, I am fascinated by the story. Do you remember it? The stepmother who “falls in love” with her stepson. Or does she? Of course, I have hold of this project at the same time that my son has had a performance of some kind or other every weekend for the last month. I have been doing at least two book groups a week. And meanwhile Mary Shelley and Mary Wollstonecraft are drumming their fingers on the table. Random House would like the first draft August 1st. But I want to go to Italy so I can see where the Shelleys wandered around. And I can’t forget to give exams to my students. I miss writing here on a regular basis. I have been on the road so much that I am back to writing in my notebook, which actually feels like coming home.
Today is my beloved niece’s birthday. I have thought of her all day long. She is alone in a new city.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 5:21 pm

    Maybe I should send you my poem about the Protestant Cemetery in Rome. Shelley and Baby Shelley are in it (the cemetery and the poem).

Leave a Reply

