Skip to content

Taormina is not Salina

June 26, 2010

It has been so hard to get on the internet, find internet etc that I don’t remember what I wrote in my last post so please do forgive me if I repeat myself. We spent the last week in Salina, one of the Aeolian Islands. It was very quiet there, very green, and very very lovely. i woke up every morning and went for a long walk and then wrote for the rest of the day, facing another island, Stromboli, where there is an active volcano and a continual bubble of smoke. We hated leaving. I have not had the time or energy to write like that in many months. I think I could have finished the book if I could have stayed there. But we had reservations in Taormina and so we left this morning. It took us over six hours (2 ferries, two cabs, and two buses) to get ourselves to Taormina, which is charming, yes, but it is not an island, and not an Aeolian Island in particular. We are up high on the mountain side so we can look down on the town. We can see Etna and the sea. When we went out to dinner we saw four brides strolling down the street with their grooms, all dressed in their wedding finery. We should love it here, but it is not Salina, which is not an island for everyone. Remote, quiet, and very few things to remind one of home. I want to go back for a month next June. I have already started looking at renting a villa.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

