Skip to content

Last Day

June 28, 2010

We leave Italy tomorrow, so today has been a day of last times. The last time we will eat gelato. The last time we will climb the 800 stairs to our hotel from the main street in Taormina. The gelato was a serious matter. Which flavor should we get? I was guided by my son. We got chocolate and mint, although I was planning to have chocolate and pistachio. It was a good decision and an attractive one, too: bright pale green and dark dark chocolate. We spent our last morning wandering in the public gardens and then eating pizza and mista salad. Then my son retreated to Lord of the Rings and I went for a swim. After the last supper, we go to sleep immediately and get up tomorrow at 5 for 24 hours of travel back to Massachusetts. But this is nothing compared to 19th century travel. This is how I am consoling myself. I have no interest in returning to the states.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 2:35 pm

    Transported for a moment to Taormina, climbing 800 ancient stairs and writing all day while watching a volcano breathe. Can’t wait to hear how the Phaedra talk went. Kate Walbert came to visit San Francisco on her book tour while you were en italia, and the temps were in the low 40s with a fog right down to your ankles. It looked like Casablanca and Kate nearly caught pneumonia. Remember last June & August in Sultry Cambridge when you were so in love with Mary & Mary and Kate’s and your books had just come out? Can’t wait to talk; meantime, I’ve subscribed to your blog so I won’t miss a minute of the action. Let me know if you need help with the villa next summer.

  2. July 14, 2010 4:19 pm

    I miss Taormina. Next year, you are coming with me.

Leave a Reply

