Skip to content

Mary is stranded

July 23, 2010

and so am I. I would like to get Mary back home to England, but real life beckons. For instance, my son is starting to read Watership Down and it begins with a quote from Aeschylus. “Who’s Agamemnon?” he asks. And, being me, I have to tell him the entire story of the Oresteia. Vividly, so he will remember it. I feel badly that I don’t create uninterrupted time for myself. But then this is the plight of all the women I write about. Mary is about to be pregnant again. She is writing Frankenstein and she has a six month old and no running water. At least I have running water and this computer.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ruth permalink
    July 23, 2010 9:56 am

    and oh so many people who care about YOU!

  2. July 23, 2010 10:36 am

    Wow, Ruth. how do you always know just what to say? I am feeling dreadful that I am not writing. Thank you.

  3. Ruth permalink
    July 23, 2010 11:52 am

    but, you are, just not on The Book right now.

Leave a Reply

