Skip to content

Two suicides and Frankenstein

July 24, 2010

Today my entire family is snorkeling and I am home alone with two pending suicides and Frankenstein. Percy Shelley’s abandoned wife Harriet is about to jump off a bridge and Mary’s half sister is about to overdose. Mary, meanwhile, is pregnant and is working hard on finishing her book before she has the baby. Nurse sharks seem friendlier. I thought I wanted the time to write, but now that I am alone I think I want to be kicking around in the sea.

One of the things I’ve gained from my travels this summer is the sense of excitement and freedom that being far away from home can create. And Mary is flush with these feelings. She has just spent her summer in Geneva and went on a steep expedition to the Alps and saw a glacier. England felt very far away. She felt she could do anything and be anything. It is hard to be back in England. For both of us. I liked writing about the Switzerland summer.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

