Skip to content

Poor me

July 27, 2010

This is what Shelley says a lot. It is also what the Creature says in Frankenstein. They both have the right to complain; both are outcasts. But suddenly I feel I know Shelley better than I thought I did as I think the Creature is based (in part) on the man Mary lived with. This is not to say that the Creature does not come from lots of different ideas and people, including Mary herself. But I do like noting that Shelley and the Creature sound very similar.
Here is Shelley in a letter to Leigh Hunt: “I am an outcast from human society; my name is execrated by all who understand its entire import, — by those very beings whose happiness I ardently desire. – I am an object of compassion to a few more benevolent thant the rest, all else abhor and avoid me.”
Here is the Creature: “All men hate the wretched; how, then, must I be hated, who am miserable beyond all living things! . . . I was benevolent; my soul glowed with love and humanity; but am I not alone, miserably alone?”

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ruth permalink
    July 28, 2010 8:27 am

    I, for one, cannot wait to read this book.

Leave a Reply

