Skip to content

Federal Prison

August 4, 2010

I discovered Sue’s death from an old high school friend who also told me that one of the boys in our class is now in Federal Prison. This is another kind of tragedy, I suppose. But I feel a strange relief to hear this because for once, the bad seed is reaping badness — to mix harvest metaphors. Although bad seeds are never all bad. I liked this boy. But I was afraid of him, too. I remember in grade school that he shocked me by saying our teacher had great head lights; I knew he meant breasts. His dad took him to The Playboy Club when he was in 5th grade, maybe 4th, and he bragged about it. He date raped my high school friend. He had a girlfriend, but made out with me at parties (but this was as much my doing as his). We both took Latin and by senior year, there were only three of us left in Advanced Latin. We used to race each other to see who could say is, ea, id the fastest. But one day he hid behind a bush and pelted me with snowballs and would not stop, even when I started to cry. He came to visit me in college. But when I refused to do our old sex tango, he got angry. We never saw each other again. I remember him as a skinny, kind of obnoxious classmate in elementary school. Someone whose seat always had to be moved.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 6:52 am

    These school memories are really well written, Charlotte, and very moving also. I think maybe you still are wearing your poet cloak beneath your nonfiction overcoat. XX

  2. Ruth permalink
    August 5, 2010 8:49 am

    Oh I do agree

Leave a Reply

