Skip to content

Too many things

August 14, 2010

I just read an article in the New York Times about a San Francisco couple who realized they weren’t happy and gave away lots of their things, paring away until they got down to 100 possessions each. Now they are happy and live in Oregon. The wife volunteers at some place called YogaSpirit (or something). This is not a foodbank: what is it? — a yoga studio for those who don’t have the money to attend yoga on a regular basis (me)? I have about 100 things right here on my desk. Maybe if I gave everything away and moved to Oregon, I would be happier. I couldn’t help but think of Jesus as I read this article. But there was no mention of Him or of lilies in the field in the article. When I was a child in church, I wondered why we didn’t give away our possessions and follow Jesus like it said to in the Bible. Why did we go and listen each week to what Jesus said and not do what He told us to? It was my first lesson in compromise. Our compromised lives. Today, I am not going to synagogue. And feel guilty about this. But my physical therapist told me the secret to a good life is guilt management.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 14, 2010 10:26 am

    I bet they’re still not really all that happy. Perhaps that’s the secret of life: being aware that (1) most of the time you won’t be happy, (2) planning how to be happy is mostly a waste of time, and (2) happiness creeps up and surprises you when and where you least expect it.

Leave a Reply

