Skip to content

Phoebe Potts and Good Eggs

September 21, 2010

The funniest smartest wisest saddest book I have read in a good long while has just come into being. Phoebe Potts’ graphic novel, Good Eggs, is fabulous. I am not a graphic novel person, nor a comix fan. But I am a fan of Good Eggs. This is Phoebe’s story of coming of age as an artist and trying to get pregnant all at the same time. My favorite parts are when she talks about wanting to be a rabbi, going to art school, being a union organizer, waiting in the fertility clinic waiting room, and going to the shrink. I also think her depiction of being depressed is the best I have ever read. Her drawings are gorgeous. Her story is terrific. There are great details, like Reuben the cat and the talking slipper. I recommend this book for everyone. My thirteen year old has read it twice. I kid you not. Here is her website.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 4:17 am

    I wish I could buy it in the UK! looking forward to reading it as soon as I can…

  2. September 22, 2010 10:25 am

    UK girl

Leave a Reply

