Skip to content

I am a conquering hero

November 11, 2010

This morning I crammed on my running shoes, zipped into my sports clothing, took my strongest glasses, two maps and loped around Florence for two hours. I have now mastered my neighborhood and have found the two places I have to go, plus, for good measure The Train Station so I can meet my niece who comes in tomorrow. The embarrassing thing is that I don’t understand maps unless I turn them around so that the map and I are all facing the same direction– that doesn’t make sense, but I figured no one knew me and I was in disguise in my sportiv outfit so I could stand on corners, turning the map around and turning around myself until I could figure things out. I realize I have no ability to think abstractly.
Today is sunny. My apartment has a brisk breeze running through it so I am still in my black puffy coat. I have figured out where Mary lived and am heading out for a pilgrimage later. My new art historian friend told me that when Mary et al were here it was far greener; there were vineyards and pastures right here in the city center. It took many centuries after the Plague for the city to fill back up. Just in case you wanted to know.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ruth permalink
    November 11, 2010 5:51 am

    Brava Charlotte! If it is any small comfort, many women can’t read a map. It is, as you suggested, the abstract spatial element that is so difficult. I can read maps, but understanding a blueprint in terms of actual space is tricky. You are on a far more important misson.

  2. November 11, 2010 6:39 am

    Re:plague. I wanted to know.

  3. Helen permalink
    November 11, 2010 11:14 am

    Bravo! Have fun with Ms Niece this weekend – and map-turning is a common-theme. I certainly do it – wonder if our siblings do too. Of course, at least 2 of them have talking GPS so they don’t have to deal with glasses and paper and staring around anymore…

    Have you been to the English Cemetery? We have relatives there…
    xxx
    -h

  4. November 11, 2010 5:23 pm

    I am so excited she is coming, helen. I have her cot all set up. I am so upset I have to go to any conference anything. I just want to tour her around.

Leave a Reply

