Skip to content

Paris and heading home

July 6, 2011

I knew I would hate leaving France. Our trip ends tomorrow. We have spent the last few days in Paris where I booked us into a hotel guaranteed to make departure harder. From our balcony we can see all the way to Sacre Coeur. We are directly across from the Pantheon and have witnessed many mysterious French formalities taking place. A military formation. Trumpets. Airplanes flying low. We have no idea why. And no one in our hotel seems to know why. In fact, the French people we know here could care less. There are no crowds. The only people who stop to look are tourists. And us. But then we are a subcategory of tourist.

We said goodbye to our favorite spots today. I hope I can post pictures later on, but this is difficult as my son is a perfectionist and wants only his best photos to appear in public. On our way back up to our room, we bumped into some people who were arriving in the lobby about to start their vacation. I felt such envy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ruth permalink
    July 6, 2011 3:35 pm

    You have had a glorious trip! I am envious. I knew I’d like Paris, but I never dreamed that I would love it! Having the opportunity to sing in some of the special places made it even harder to leave. I ‘ve loved following your travels, happy, safe trip Stateside.

  2. nicki richon-schoel permalink
    July 7, 2011 5:40 am

    I feel envious about the whole package: traveling with your fabulous and fun-to-be-with son BCR, driving along French roads, language on your tongues and in your ears …AND ending in Paris gazing at Sacre Coeur!

Leave a Reply

