Skip to content

fish soup

October 10, 2011

Here is a picture that Heather took while I was at her house eating her fish soup. I admit that she did not do this spontaneously. I begged her. I was hoping that my blog would look more like hers if she took a picture of me with a bowl of her beautiful food — fish soup made with coconut milk, that’s right, coconut milk, oh, and paprika. And that if my blog looked more like hers, then I would somehow be more like Heather. But we all know it doesn’t work like that. You can wear the same sweater as the beautiful person you saw wearing it first, and you will still look like yourself (I learned this in high school). Same with shoes. And same with hair. I used to try to straighten my hair so I would look like that actress on The Mod Squad (Peggy Lipton), or Marlo Thomas on That Girl. Or what’s her name on Bewitched. But this was stupid since I have curly hair. Not to mention many other differences between me and Peggy and Marlo. The curls have been a blessing, though, as they have taught me more than anything else that I cannot hide who I am. No amount of blow drying helps – all of which is a metaphor.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2011 8:26 am

    Hey, I think your friend Heather might have reviewed my husband’s photos on her blog. Thomas Birtwistle. Fair photos. Clark Gallery. Isn’t that funny?

  2. October 11, 2011 9:43 am

    Hey, Dawn,

    I love your husband’s photos, and, yup, they were on my blog. I’m the blogger who is always trying to look and be like Charlotte Gordon. I curl my hair to be like her.

  3. October 11, 2011 10:17 am

    Love the curls. And as a fellow curly-haired woman, I know what it means to make one’s peace with them!

  4. October 11, 2011 3:03 pm

    Charlotte does have beautiful hair. And I’m so glad you like Tom’s pictures, Heather.

  5. October 12, 2011 3:53 pm

    Thanks, Dawn!

Leave a Reply

