Skip to content

Rachmaninoff and hypnotherapy

October 13, 2011

Last night, the announcer on our classical music station told me that Rachmaninoff was so depressed after the failure of his first symphony that he did not write anything for several years until he went to a hypnotherapist. Then, he sat right down and penned the 2nd piano concerto– that’s the famous one that everyone knows — and, here’s my favorite part, dedicated it to his hypnotherapist. I want a hypnotherapist.

Rachmaninoff is not one of my favorite composers, but I like stories of failure and then success, particularly when there is a miraculous intervention of some sort. Besides, there is something so Russian about this concerto. I heard it differently after I knew about the hypnotherapy. Those first measures sound so triumphant, like he has just banished something awful, like we, the listeners, have come in after something difficult has already happened.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 7:09 am

    I want a hypnotist too…. Do you know any good ones around here? I do have a friend who is a great physic and read Tarot cards beautifully. Hmmm would that do?

  2. October 24, 2011 12:01 pm

    Interesting story.

Trackbacks

  1. Tine Thing Helseth plays Rachmaninoff « Sound the Trumpet: How to Blow Your Own Horn

Leave a Reply

