Skip to content

Paula Cole and Mary Shelley, or Making Monsters

October 14, 2011

I went to hear my friend Paula sing with her friend Shawn Colvin last night. I liked when Paula covered that old Neil Young song, “Old Man,” or whatever it is called. I told her that I want her to sing all of my favorite songs by male rock stars. Apparently, she does do a cover of a Led Zepplin song. Anyways, there was something astonishing about hearing her take on those lyrics and Neil Young, the icon. I watched her and felt flooded with inspiration. If she can do it, so can I — that kind of thing. But my favorite part was when she sang “Me.” There is a great line, “It is Me who makes the monsters.” And I thought of Mary Shelley making her own monsters, literally. And, strangely, that is where I am in the revision of my book: Mary is writing Frankenstein.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

