Skip to content

After December 1st

November 2, 2011

After December 1st, which is when I turn in the manuscript, then I will _____________ — you fill in the blank. I have made many wild promises to people, including myself, about this post book existence. After December 1st. After December 1st, I will clean my study, see the 5 million friends I have not seen for the last four years while I have been writing this book, travel around the world, make cookies, have a dinner party, make phone calls, write syllabi for next semester, organize my books, and START MY NEW BOOK. Oh, and do the end-notes for this book. That will not be fun. However, as a veteran of this sort of thing, I have noticed that the post book universe is never as fun as I think it will be. Perversely, I will miss the world I have been living in. True, it will be nice to get the pages off the dining room table. But I like living with the Marys. And I have been with them for a long time. Thankfully, this is not it, of course. The editing process will begin and though I have no idea what this will be like, I do know that it means that I will no longer be alone in this world I have created. Enter my editor.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Priscilla permalink
    November 2, 2011 9:21 am

    “Enter my editor” sounds like a title or a first line for a new book!

  2. November 2, 2011 2:55 pm

    So, does it mean that you haven’t been doing any of those things for four years? That’s a huge … I don’t want to use the word sacrifice but … erm… willpower maybe.

    Anyway, my best wishes to you!

Leave a Reply

