Skip to content

Pinned to sofa and a blog about Wollstonecraft

January 21, 2012

A long hiatus. I had Not finished the book on the Marys (Wollstonecraft and Shelley) after all. I had to do a quick last minute revision of the first 75 pages which altered all the subsequent chapters. Fortunately, my niece came up to help. She drove my son around to his lessons, helped copy-edit, made dinner, and, in general, lived my life on my behalf. I ended up turning the manuscript in on the day it was due, but barely. How can this be? — that one has years to write a book and it still comes down to the wire like this.
Then, we had a sudden death in the family. And now I have ripped my hamstring and am on the couch, complaining. However, this does give me the opportunity to flex my blog muscles again. I was excited to see that there is a blog devoted to the 250th anniversary of Wollstonecraft’s birth, inspired in part by the celebrations planned this spring in the UK: Mary on the Green.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ruth permalink
    January 21, 2012 2:49 pm

    Congratulations on finishing down to the wire. Heal quickly! Prayers to all!

  2. January 27, 2012 11:17 am

    Thanks so much for featuring our projects! A Vindication of the Rights of Mary is a blog I set up to collate everything about her, especially academic and artistic projects. (Did you know there are two conferences in a month’s time, to commemorate the 220th anniversary of the publication of A Vindication of the Rights of Woman?) Mary on the Green is a collaborative endeavour to raise a statue to her, in north London. Visitors to, and helpers with, both are welcome. I can’t wait to read your novel. When will it be out?

Trackbacks

  1. Mary Wollstonecraft and Rights of Women - Philosophy
  2. Mary Wollstonecraft and Rights of Women (Summary)

Leave a Reply

