Skip to content

Injury Stories

January 25, 2012

I have experienced the first practical benefit of Facebook. I was determined to get off this couch and see if I could drive, so I staggered to the car, drove around the corner to our local health food store, parked, staggered in, and realized that I had been overly ambitious. The aisles stretched in front of me, long and filled with people. It was at this juncture, one of despair, that my friend Kate who co-owns the store, swooped in. “How are you? How is that hamstring?” Somehow, she already knew. How? Facebook.

Kate ran around and got me my things, but the best part was that she told me her injury stories, of which she has plenty, as she is a fellow aging athlete. I listened with fascination. In fact, I am now fascinated by all such stories, as long as they have happy endings: the storyteller was injured, but now is all better. All better. It’s kind of like being lost and then being found.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2012 7:09 pm

    Dear Charlotte Gordon,

    I loved your book, “The Woman Who Named God. ” I am rereading it now.

    I am sorry you hurt your hamstring. I hope it is in some ways also a gift in disguise.

    Here’s one of my haikus for healing:

    Wishing Well

    the heart of pain cries
    for our mind’s caresses
    to
    radiate healing

    **
    Much healing to you,

    Michael Koran

    p.s. My sweetheart and I are both healers. So if there is anything we can do for you please let us know. We live in Cambridge.

  2. January 26, 2012 12:16 am

    Thank you so much, Michael!

  3. January 26, 2012 12:39 pm

    Dear Charlotte Gordon,

    Did you know that one of the roots of the Hebrew word for “barren” (akara) is “hamstring”? [Brown, Driver and Briggs 785]. In Genesis 49:6 the same root “ekru” is used for “hamstringing” an ox.]

    So perhaps Sarai’s fertility was hamstrung so she could channel love energy to be a goddess?

    Much goddess energy to you and all of us,

    Michael Koran

  4. January 29, 2012 1:00 pm

    I like the idea of goddess energy. Thank you, Michael.

  5. January 29, 2012 4:25 pm

    Dear Charlotte,

    Here’s another healing haiku.

    Much healing to you and all of us,

    Michael

    *****
    Pain Gain

    injuries
    I can
    love you
    more
    when you’re healing
    opportunities

Leave a Reply

