Skip to content

Madden and writing

February 4, 2012

I am marooned on the couch and have relaxed all rules today. Hence, my son is playing his football video game and I am trying to figure out how to write while listening to the canned commentators. They repeat their remarks in an endless loop: “Good coverage downfield. #34 is ready to play. Looks left, loads it up. New England gets ready to kick it away.”

I picture Andre Dubus (junior) writing in his pickup truck in the graveyard in Newburyport early in the morning before he went to work as a carpenter and tell myself I need to get a little tougher. If he could tough out the dark and cold of a New England morning in a graveyard, then I can tough out: “possession, lowering his shoulders, he throws it to the middle.” At least, it is light out and I am warm. The only hard part is my son’s insistence that I admire his plays. And, actually, I like admiring his plays. They seem very good to me, although what do I know.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 4, 2012 12:06 pm

    The key to this picture is that Andre was away from his children, and their tangles. Think about it: Dark, peaceful place- maybe a little cold – where you are alone with yourself, and can pretend you’re anything you want vs. warm, well-lit situation with Virgil, who is right beside you pointing at everything good and bad you’ve ever been.

Leave a Reply

