Skip to content

Almonds

February 16, 2012

The reason I have almonds in my backpack is that when I crutched into a meeting last week, one of my colleagues, an athlete said to me, “Be careful.”
“I know,” I said, “I don’t want to fall again.”
“Well, yes,” she said, “But I meant you have to eat. I almost fainted when I was on crutches because I forgot to eat before I crossed campus.”
I am in no danger of forgetting to eat. But I do know what she means. I am starving all the time these days. It reminds me of when my son was born. I remember having a jar of peanut better next to the bed and spooning it down while he nursed. Also, it is exhausting being disorganized. Where is everything? My papers are all buried in my backpack, or else stacked on our coffee table where the orange cat chews on their corners. I miss sitting at a desk like a normal self.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2012 9:21 am

    This is where a glass of wine with a friend comes in.

  2. Ruth permalink
    February 16, 2012 6:30 pm

    Oh, Darling, you simply MUST remember to eat and I do like those almonds!!! You are getting quite the workout on them there crutches!!! Listen to this “old Purple Lady”

Leave a Reply

