Skip to content

Finishing

May 3, 2012

I’ve been finishing my revisions and I have decided that there is actually no such thing as finishing. There’s only running out of time. Two days ago, I thought the world was going to be so lucky to read this book. I could hardly wait to hear the nice things everyone was going to say. But yesterday, I realized that all those flourishes and great little asides were clunky and slow, so I fell asleep on top of my ccomputer. Today, I have realized that I have no idea how the book is. I will just have to turn it in and wait and see.
Meanwhile, my students are handing in sheaves of manuscript. My son has lost his science notebook, and has an extra, yes, extra orchestra rehearsal where I am pounding this out on my new smartphone- new because my old phone died over the weekend while I was reconsidering the final chapter. I looked over to check the time and its face was blank, sickeningly so.

We leave for Milan in two weeks, which means no matter how many more rehearsals, broken phones, and student novels are in my immediate future, the book will be “finished.” Well, for the time being — until the next round of edits.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 4, 2012 8:41 am

    Hang in there Charlotte…..I am sure that your book on the Marys will be fab!!!

Leave a Reply

