Skip to content

Grandmere and grammaire or life with a French student

October 27, 2012

Today, I asked my French exchange student a question about French grammar. He responded by telling me about his French grandmere (grandmother).Grammar/grandmere — they sound a lot alike. This is how our conversations go. Well, not all of them. We have each learned a lot. He has learned the expression, “It is up to you.” And I have learned not to say abientot if I am going to see someone again in a few hours.

Friday morning, I tried my best to duplicate a French breakfast. But I failed utterly. There are no two ways around it; I can make pancakes, but I cannot seem to find fresh baguettes. Nor do I make my own jam. And on Friday the pancakes stuck to the pan which upset me, although it did not upset either boy. And I wondered what is wrong with me that I am upset about pancakes? There are people dying in Aleppo. I have a book to write and students to teach. Pancakes? But somehow, I want everything to be beautiful. Perfect. If not on the page, at least in my kitchen.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2012 7:01 pm

    Do grandmeres make perfect pancakes all the time? I think not. Say no to abientot.

  2. Gail permalink
    October 27, 2012 9:11 pm

    This grand mere is an utter failure at pancakes, and never was too great at exchange students either. BUT MinuteMaid OJ was a big hit!
    Teach them: don’t sweat the small stuff.

Leave a Reply

