Skip to content

Passover and More Preparation

March 25, 2013

I was complaining about getting ready for Passover when I remembered my blog post about preparation. If I did not have anything to do it would not feel like Passover. Sometimes, I think the most important part of preparation is the setting aside of time, the acceptance that I must grind up almonds and chocolate to make our Passover dessert instead of lolling around on the sofa as is my wont on Sunday nights. My son’s French mother made Passover sound glamorous yesterday when we talked on Skype. “Ah oui, Passover,” she said. “La mer rouge.” Then, it occurred to me that preparing is actually a luxury, testimony to the safety and certainty of our lives. After all, the Israelites had to rush away before their bread rose, which never struck me as such a tragedy until I realized that the urgency of escape, racing ahead before one has fully prepared is a terrifying thing, like that perennial nightmare, sitting down for an exam without having studied, or rushing out of a burning building, not that I have ever rushed out of a burning building. Personally, I never feel fully prepared for anything. But I am trying to take more time in my life for preparation, largely for the sense of security it gives me.

Here are the two Passover cakes I made yesterday night. Note how flat and unappetizing they look. But then, no Israelite would have had time to press walnuts onto the date cake, let alone grind almonds. IMG_0207IMG_0206

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2013 9:35 am

    Ah Charlotte, I am glad you made your passover cakes. They look quite good. I like the preparation, I love the term “mise en place” getting it all ready to put together. It is good to think of the Passing over…the urgency, the fear, and then the grace… bless you.
    xo
    g

  2. March 25, 2013 10:52 am

    Chag sameach! Thanks for this post, Charlotte. I love the idea of preparation as a form of luxury and security – which it is, of course: hauling out the great big pot, braising a brisket, rolling out twenty-seven matzo balls, finding the seder plate and the haggadahs at last under Callie’s bed where I stored them last year…

  3. March 25, 2013 3:51 pm

    Remember that Seder at Waring many years ago? It was my first time meeting Larry, I think.
    xoxo

  4. March 25, 2013 4:48 pm

    He made a fringe of asparagus across the doorway to the Victor Hugo room. Thumbtacks.

Leave a Reply

