Skip to content

What to leave behind

March 29, 2013

I leave for Sikkim in a week and my manuscript (well, half of it) is coming back today from New York with revisions. Don’t get me wrong. I am excited to see what my editor has to say, but somehow my books always seem to bounce back at the most difficult times. Although, even as I write this, I am trying to think of a time in my life that is not difficult. Maybe it feels more challenging than usual because the dilemma is not simply how will I find the time to work on it, but should I take it to Sikkim? If they send me hard copy, then no, because the manuscript weighs about one hundred pounds, well, maybe seven, or two. If it is electronic, then I could bring my computer and work on it while I am waiting in airports and sitting around in the Himalayas. Who needs to visit monasteries? But my computer has a battery life of 15 minutes and is not a lightweight object. Then there is the huge stack of student papers that I would like to grade sometime soon, maybe in the next century. I had had a vision of myself in a jeep, hair blowing in the Himalayan wind, heading up into the mountains with approximately nothing, maybe a canteen and a backpack with a clean t shirt. I think I will stick with this and leave the papers and the computer at home.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    March 29, 2013 9:46 am

    I vote for leaving the papers AND the computer home. Otherwise, you will never be truly ‘away’!

  2. March 29, 2013 9:52 am

    Leave it behind..yes! Sikkim is a step out of time and place…”to live in the present moment is a miracle. the miracle is to walk on the green earth in the present moment, to appreciate the peace and beauty that are available now” Thich Nhat Hanh
    Go and feel the miracle….

  3. richard permalink
    April 2, 2013 1:25 pm

    Leave it all behind! Revel in your travel companion, the school you’re visiting and Sikkim!

Leave a Reply

