Skip to content

Petticoats and publication dates

December 3, 2014

I have spent two long years revising the manuscript for my new book and part of me hoped that this process would never end. I like tinkering with sentences and chapter openings. I liked living in the worlds of my two women, Mary Shelley and Mary Wollstonecraft, although I am grateful to have electric lights, flush toilets, and microwaves. Not to mention cars. One of my favorite complaints of Mary Wollstonecraft — and she complained a lot — was how awful it was to trudge through snowy streets with petticoats. I am glad I don’t have to wear petticoats. I have huge brown boots – perfect for today’s tasks in rainy Boston, none of which involve revising a manuscript, as I have turned it in, and it is in Random House’s hands, now, with a publication date — April 28, 2015.

COVERROMOUT51qlTGEM-wL._SL500_AA300_

7 Comments leave one →
  1. jonathan golding permalink
    December 3, 2014 12:14 pm

    ~LOVE IT!~ – you go gurl! –

    & thanks for sharing. JG From: Charlotte Gordon Reply-To: Charlotte Gordon Date: Wednesday, December 3, 2014 at 12:07 PM To: jonathan golding Subject: [New post] Petticoats and publication dates

    WordPress.com charlotte gordon posted: “I have spent two long years revising the manuscript for my new book and part of me hoped that this process would never end. I like tinkering with sentences and chapter openings. I liked living in the worlds of my two women, Mary Shelley and Mary Wollstone”

  2. Glenn Falk permalink
    December 3, 2014 12:28 pm

    Reading your Anne Bradstreet and Sarah/Hagar books was like plunging into the past. This latest one already looks like it will provide the same immersive experience. I can’t wait to read it. It is bittersweet to be done with the manuscript, but congratulations. The act of relinquishing–one could write a book about that.

  3. carolyncookeauthor@gmail.com permalink
    December 3, 2014 2:53 pm

    Love the title and the subtitle! The cover is elegant, too. congratulations! Will be in Boston Dec 17-20 the with my mother. So much to catch up on. Do you have any time?

    Xo, C

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. December 3, 2014 3:56 pm

    Congratulations Charlotte! Cannot wait to preorder it on Amazon!

  5. Sandy permalink
    December 3, 2014 6:12 pm

    I’m so excited for you Charlette, I know it as been along journey. Can’t wait till your book signing in Tempe, AZ. I’ll see you there.

  6. December 3, 2014 9:11 pm

    Thank you so much, Glenn. It really is bittersweet to be done with the ms.

  7. gail b gall permalink
    December 15, 2014 12:51 pm

    Great news, Charlotte! Looking forward to publication.

Leave a Reply

